Hello World!

7 Jan

So…. today we begin our first adventure in blogging. We are so thankful to be embarking on this journey together.  Elizabeth is the newly “Married Wife” in this dynamic duo and I, Laura would be the “Single Life”…  but, I would like to clarify for the sake of my boyfriend of over 3 years that I am not “single”; however, when filling out paperwork at the doctors office “single” is the box that I check because I am not married.

I the “Single Life” and Elizabeth the “Married Wife” thought it would be fun to blog about cooking and our lives as we evolve to the next stages of life. Elizabeth has a bit of experience in the kitchen, but I’ll let her speak for herself. Cooking intimidates me. I am a city girl, at my house we go out to eat. If you need advice on what restaurant to go to I’m your girl. Lucky for me I am dating a nice country boy who knows his way around the kitchen and he loves to cook for me.  But don’t get me wrong… he gives me a lot of grief for my lack of cooking ability. He likes to call me McDonalds’s because the only good thing I can make is a Breakfast sandwich (No joke… I really do make a mean breaky sam and will blog about it later, but first I have to impress you with a more deserving conquest).

Hello world, Elizabeth here! I do my wifely duties of cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping and laundry. Don’t get me wrong, I also take out the garbage, shovel the snow, and rake the leaves.  I grew up on a farm and I am not afraid to get my hands dirty. I always thought that my ability to push a lawn mower, bail hay, and shoot guns would land me a great guy. And it did. We have been together 5 years and married 1 ½ years

We hope you think we are as entertaining as we think we are!! =) Either way, you will learn some easy recipes, helpful tips, and share our journey into domestication!

TTFN!

(ta ta for now)

5 Responses to “Hello World!”

  1. Laurie Alves January 8, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    Hi Laura & Elizabeth! Hoe exciting and a Great idea. I love the premise of your Blog! Fantastic! BTW, you were my 100th Twitter Follower and you won a gift! Feel free to email me and give me your contact info 🙂
    Good Luck to you, and I can’t wait to see your jounrey 🙂

  2. marsea January 9, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Looks like this will be a fun site–a new club house for new and old friends to gather.
    Plus you trying out the new recipes first is a great idea. Can I submit a recipe idea and you’ll try naking it then rate it for me? I like the sound of that.;)

  3. marsea January 9, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Ever hear of ‘DUMP SALAD’?
    16 oz Cottage Cheese (large curd)
    16 oz Cool Whip
    3 oz Jello (flavor choice optional)
    16 oz Fruit salad (chunky will work too, drained)
    8 oz Crushed Pineapple (drained)
    1 c. chopped walnuts
    A crazy name but very delicious.

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife January 10, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      Hi Marcsea – Thank you for the “Dump Salad” Recipe! We will try it out and let you know how it turns out! =) If you have any more to share hit the “share your recipes” tab at the top of the page and submit them there!

      Thanks again!

      Elizabeth and Laura

  4. Helene January 12, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    Welcome in the blogging world. You’ll meet lot’s of great people. I’ll be following your blog.

Leave a Reply

