New Beginnings

10 Jan

Things are hectic around here and I love it. It’s always so hard after the holiday season to get through the winter. I am the kind of person that needs something to look forward to. Right now I’ve got a lot on my plate. Moving out of an old apartment, moving into a new one and a fun trip to Chicago. OH did I mention… all this is happening THE SAME WEEKEND.

I sometimes wonder how I get myself into these situations but at the end of the day I find it better not to question and to just get the job done. So here I am the week before everything happens and instead of worrying if we will get everything moved out, then in and get to Chicago I have put myself to work packing cleaning and channeling my inner “strong man” by moving furniture that is way too heavy.

My favorite part about this whole experience is how differently my boyfriend and I are handling things. He is calm, cool and collected and cringes every time I try and “plan” things out. I on the other hand have been obsessing since probably November about each detail and how we are going to be in three places at once.

At the end of the day my boyfriend is right (OMG don’t tell him I said that). Sometimes you just have to let go and believe that everything will get done. Worrying and planning won’t move furniture.

I have adopted my boyfriends laissez faire attitude (I’m really trying to I promise!) and will approach this weekend with an open mind and let things unfold as we accomplish them.

Fingers crossed it all works out!

Have you ever over-booked yourself before? How did it turn out?

XOXO L

3 Responses to “New Beginnings”

  1. Amy at TheSceneFromMe January 12, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Sometimes I do overbook myself and I instantly feel overwhelmed! Ahh, gotta have my days of relaxation and rejuvination!

  2. Carolyn January 12, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Go Laura!

    I spend my life trying to underbook myself 😉

  3. Heather Eats Almond Butter January 12, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    I am notorious for overcommitting myself. One of my New Year’s resolutions: Learn to say “No” more often. Of course, I make this resolution every year and never do very well with it. Fingers crossed for 2011. 🙂

    Your aunt passed along your site to me. Love the name of your blog!

Leave a Reply

