January Blues

25 Jan

The last couple weeks I have been a little down in the dumps. Living in America’s High Five (Michigan) we do not see the sun very often in the winter months and I have grown to love my college sweatpants, hair in a pony tail,  and my white fluffy robe. After falling in the slump for a few weeks I have finally snapped out of it!

Here is what I did:

  1. Most important – I went out and bought several new sweaters, shirts, a new necklace, and a sassy bra. There is nothing like having a few new items in your closet!
  2. My make up collection has increased. New mascara, eye shadow, and brushes. Now, I just need to learn to use them.
  3. My relationship with the gym has been rekindled. It has been a while, so we are taking it VERY slow. =)
  4. The pony tail needs to go. I have been taking my time in the morning with it instead of throwing it up. I am going back and forth on chopping it or not. ( It is down my lower back)
  5. I have also been switching up my jewelry. Big earring, bracelets, watches, necklaces. If you got them, might as well wear them.

I like to pretend that my husband notice my little transformation, but unless I ask “Do I look nice” he won’t mention it.. MEN!

What do you do in the winter months to help you beat the winter blues?

xoxo

6 Responses to “January Blues”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) January 26, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    Great topic, and I love your strategies for beating the winter blues. Here are some of mine:
    – I try a new seasonal vegetable every week. There’s nothing like summer tomatoes and basil here in NJ but trying new winter produce adds spice to my life.
    – wii fit!!! It’s hard to get out to the gym when it’s cold and snowing. I love my wii fit!
    – soup, soup, soup. 🙂

  2. Single Life 2 Married Wife January 26, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    Yes. Wii Fit! I have to admit it has been a while since we visited… Thanks for reminding me! As I always say – The sun will come out tomorrow, I hope!

  3. foods for the soul January 26, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    When I find myself getting stuck in the winter blues (or just in a rut, anytime of the year), I try to do something new that I’ve never done before. Most of the time, I end up cooking something new and interesting because that’s my favorite hobby, but trying out a new machine at the gym, watching a different genre of movie, or even picking up a new hobby would all be good ideas. Getting out and seeing friends also helps–it’s a huge pick-me-up to know that there are people out there who know and appreciate you!

  4. KtMaude February 1, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I enjoy picking one area in my house and spending a few days to spice it up. I also love to open all my shades early in the morning to catch the morning sunshine ( and try to imagine spring). Lastly, I try to rid the winter blues by finding a new store in my neighborhood that I have never been to and buying one item! It makes it a bit of an adventure in the boring cold winter!

    Thanks for the reminder of visiting my old friend (the gym)…maybe we will meet up this week. 🙂

  5. Marsea February 6, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Several winters ago I bought a plant grow light and rigged up a system to help my plants survive our dark winter months. I used one of those work clip lamps with the metal shade to hold the bulb. I can’t recall if my plants thrived or not but I certainly did! That little room off my kitchen was so literally glowing with bright white light that it looked like sunlight streaming in the window. And as everbody knows, we all love a sunny day.

  6. Marsea February 6, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    One more thing…I shave my legs. Chop all the lumber off and they think it’s swim suit time!

Leave a Reply

