The pantry needs help!

2 Feb

It seems that when ever I go to the grocery store I always walk out with the same things. I am looking for some help and recommendations: What can I add to this list to spice up my pantry and fridge?

Must haves for the cupboard:
Spaghetti sauce and wheat pasta
Canned chick peas, mushrooms, Black olives
Tuna Fish
Artichoke hearts
Pears and Crushed Pineapples
Jello
Fat Free Pudding.
Garnola


Must haves for the Fridge:

Lunch Meat
Cheese
Romain Lettuce
Yogurt

I really appreciate the advice!

xoxo

11 Responses to “The pantry needs help!”

  1. Jessica D Torres February 3, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Must haves for pantry in my house are cream of wheat, crackers, peanut butter, trail mix, and chips.
    For the fridge we have to have hazelnut and almond milk, orange juice, jelly, homemade salsa, ketchup, and ranch dressing.

    Can you tell I have kids?

  2. Emily February 3, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    I cook 2 meals at home most days…

    Add to the pantry:
    mac & cheese
    coconut milk (www.publicradio.org/columns/splendid-table/recipes/poultry_curry.html)
    canned tomatoes
    pineapple rings (www.eatingwell.com/recipes/pineapple_teriyaki_chicken.html)
    refried or black beans
    onions
    garlic
    potatoes
    rice
    nuts

    and to the fridge:
    bell peppers
    milk
    eggs
    curry paste

    add to the freezer:
    chicken

  3. Single Life 2 Married Wife February 4, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Thanks for the suggestions!! My problem is there are only two of us right now, and my other half travels a lot for work, so it seems like a lot of stuff goes bad……

    (right now I am thinking about that red pepper I bought earlier in the week and it is probably going bad)

    • Nelda Maniex February 6, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      Rather than watch the pepper slowly go bad in your fridge, cut up that red pepper (rinse first!) into small pieces and freeze on cookie sheet. Doing it that way allows each piece to freeze instead of a big chunk of froxen peppers. Once frozen, store in freezer bag and use as needed. My Mother taught me that.
      FYI: Always date your freezer bags.;)

  4. WIneDineDivas February 7, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    You do have a good start with your Pantry. You could cook your wheat pasta – which we love too for its nutty taste- In a medium pan saute in a little oil or butter mushrooms and your chopped red peppers for 15- 20 minutes then add the pitted olives. Pour some of your Spaghetti sauce in the pan as well and cook for another 5 minutes. Serve the vegi sauce over the pasta with some grated cheese.
    Bon Appetit!

  5. Helen Ellis February 21, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    I too am a fan of crushed pineapple!
    Here’s a video peek inside my pantry: http://bit.ly/aOJz4z
    Helen

  6. Katie February 24, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    My must-haves are:
    – peanut butter
    – nutella
    – various types of pasta (rigatoni, penne, spaghetti, etc)
    – crackers
    – homemade roasted red peppers
    – homemade peach salsa
    – homemade canned tomatoes / sauce
    – various canned veggies & soups (for nights when I feel particularly lazy & uninspired)
    – canned tuna / chicken flakes
    – baking supplies (including sprinkles, cake/brownie mixes/jello, cupcake liners, etc)
    – gum

    I think, off the top of my head, that’s everything that I generally keep in my pantry!

  7. Single Life 2 Married Wife February 25, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Katie – I would life to can my own veggies etc… My grams makes us jam every spring, but that is as close as i get…

Leave a Reply

