Describe Your Marriage

12 Feb

I am not an expert on marriage and can not offer any sort of knowledgeable advice seeing that I have been married for only  1 1/2 years. BUT, I have been fortunate enough to be surround by many marriages that have lasted a long time. My parents just celebrated 35 years, my husband’s parents are still happily married, both my grandparents had long loving relationships. Even my friends growing up, their parents are all still married.

As I enter into this journey called marriage, I often think about what it takes to make it work. (In no particular order.)

  • Love
  • Respect
  • Family Values
  • Manners
  • Friendship
  • Laughter
  • Trust
  • Communication
  • Security

If you could describe your marriage in 5 words, what would those words be?

xoxo

5 Responses to “Describe Your Marriage”

  1. Jessica D Torres February 12, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I would say love, respect, balance, humor, and friendship would be my 5 words. I’m not always good at communication.

  2. Branson February 21, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Faith-based, patient, humorous, devoted, work-in-progress. Hyphens aren’t cheating are they? Lol! It is the most wonderful adventure, and the most valuable earthly relationship you will ever have. The marriage success rate among my parents and siblings is 28%. You are so lucky to have great examples! 🙂 We will celebrate 10 years in august, and I am thankful for both the joys and challenges that have made our marriage so strong!

  3. Single Life 2 Married Wife February 25, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    It is crazy how many marriages don’t work out these days.. Heck they even have radio commercials for divorce… “50% end in divorce, be protected… weird.

  4. marsea February 27, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Faithfulness–you’re the one & only ever.
    Maturity–lots of young men never grow up. They remain the ‘Good Time Party Boys’ rather than developing into GOOD husbands and wonderful fathers.
    Ambition–The drive to become all of the above.
    Compassion– The soft side.
    Sense of Humor–nothing is better than laughing.

  5. WendysHat February 6, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    I agree with the above comments. {trying hard not to copy them all}
    Love, Integrity, Humor, Selflessness, Patience
    So hard to only use 5 words!
    We are celebrating my parents 50th Anniversary on Friday and my 26th in April.

Leave a Reply

