Valentine’s Day

16 Feb

Driving home after work Monday I called my boyfriend and we decided that we were going to celebrate Valentine’s Day on Tuesday because we both weren’t prepared and were tired after a long day. On Monday’s I teach a dance class after work so straight from work I went to the studio. On my way home from dance I decided it wouldn’t hurt to be a bit romantic… I didn’t expect anything from the boyfriend but figured I needed to acknowledge the holiday a bit, since I am very lucky to be in love. I stopped by Baskin Robins on my way back to the apartment and picked up a little ice-cream cake, it was red velvet cake with red velvet ice-cream yummmmm! To my surprise when I walked in the apartment my boyfriend had bought me a beautiful bouquet of red roses. Sitting on the table was an adorable display of the roses along side a big bag of salt and vinegar kettle chips and a new bottle of ketchup (my FAVORITE snack). I laughed when I realized that despite our attempt to be anti-valentines day and to celebrate on our own terms we both had wanted the other to feel special on the Hallmark holiday.

8 Responses to “Valentine’s Day”

  1. Jessica D Torres February 16, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    How sweet! I love salt and vinegar kettle chips too.

    • Laura February 28, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Try dipping them in Ketchup- SO good!

  2. Katie February 17, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    Wait a minute… Baskin Robbins has red velvet cake and red velvet ice cream?! What rock have I been living under?! This is amazing!!

    😉

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    • Laura February 28, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

      Happy Valentine’s Day, Katie 🙂 Highly recommend the red velvet ice cream cake… it was quite the treat!

  3. Branson February 17, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    That is so sweet… We are all about the small things after being married almost 10 years 😉 and hello… I have never heard of red velvet ice cream and feel I must find it now, lol!

  4. marsea February 27, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    First date? Yeah, A double feature at the drive-in and a bag of White Castle hamburgers.
    But, my date did tell me that night “I don’t know how long it will take, 6 months, 6 years, but You are going to marry me.”
    I thought he was crazy.

  5. marsea February 27, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    It took six years.

Leave a Reply

