Tasty!

21 Feb

I made the best dinner the other night. It was light, fulfilling, healthy, and the best part, tasty!

I started with a sauce pan full of water for the Asparagus.

The secret to making amazing asparagus is lemon. Yes, I add lemon. I did not have any fresh lemons this time so I used lemon juice. (In the little squeezable lemon shaped bottle.) Squeeze just enough so the water is tart or a whole lemon sliced, squeezed, and dropped into the pan. I also added salt and pepper. Depending on how crunchy you want your asparagus will determine how long you boil it. I go for approx 10 minutes.

Next, I preheated the over to 425, seasoned 2 thin slices of pork with salt/pepper and a seasoning salt. Bake for 15 minutes.

Finally, I made an amazing salad with a cup of apple sauce. I used roman lettuce and chopped it into small pieces. I added black olives, chick peas, artichoke hearts, croutons, topped with Kraft Light Parmesan Asiago Balsamic Vinaigrette (amazing).

The end result was AMAZING! Very quick dinner, yet very healthy!

xoxo

4 Responses to “Tasty!”

  1. Jessica D Torres February 21, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    My husband loves pork chops so he cooks them all the time. I love asparagus and salad (he does not). I usually make my asparagus in the oven with olive oil and pink salt. Never tried lemon before, will have to try soon.

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife February 21, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      If I bake the asparagus I will rub it down with olive oil, cracked rock salt, and slice up a lemon squeeze it, slice it, and bake it with the asparagus…. That is delicious!

      Pink salt.. I will have to try that!

  2. kitchenarian March 8, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Asparagus is my favorite vegetable ever. I roast my asparagus with a bit of olive oil drizzled over it and sea salt. I have never tried the lemon before. I will have to try that next time.

  3. Lisa March 22, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Asparagus is my favorite vegetable, but I have never quite mastered cooking it perfectly. I will definitely try the lemon, thanks so much for the tip! =)

Leave a Reply

