Snow Day Chicken

22 Feb

Many of you had Monday off for President’s day… unfortunately I did not.  But luck was on my side… Thank you Michigan weather, I got a work from home day (adult snow day). After working all day in my PJ’s the last thing I wanted to do was run out to the grocery store and pick up ingredients for dinner, so I checked the pantry and freezer and this is what I came up with:

Chicken Breasts

Poultry Seasoning

Olive Oil

Jar of Spaghetti sauce

Red Wine Vinegar

Spaghetti noodles

Foil

Mozzarella cheese (Actually string cheese, but it still worked!)

I decided to make a light version of chicken Parmesan (minus the deep fried breading). It was really simple!

First I sliced the 2 chicken breasts in half the long way (they were thick, by slicing they cooked faster). Next I created two little foil “boats” in each foil “boat” I added a bit of pasta sauce from a jar, the chicken breasts with Poultry seasoning on them, Olive Oil, and a big splash of Red Wine vinegar. I baked the chicken for 35 minutes at 400. Added some cheese on top and baked the chicken for 5 more minutes.

I was a bit nervous of my first bite because I truly just threw together what I could find… I served the chicken on top of some pasta and it was good! Dave actually said it was my best chicken ever. A proud moment for me 🙂

XOXO L

 

3 Responses to “Snow Day Chicken”

  1. Jessica D Torres February 23, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Normally on days I don’t want to leave the house I order pizza. I like the idea of cooking the chicken in foil, seems like it would save on clean up time.

  2. Branson February 25, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    Yumm! I love tomato chicken! My recipe is very similar, I just use diced tomatoes instead of spaghetti sauce.

  3. Single Life 2 Married Wife February 25, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Chicken is so easy to cook. Anything goes with it!

Leave a Reply

