Off to Florida with no luggage!

6 Apr

This weekend I am flying to Florida to see my 91 year old grandma. I found a nonstop, round trip ticket through Spirit airlines for $137! Unbelievable.

What’s the catch you ask? Well, I will not be checking any luggage and I will not bring a carry on.

Why no luggage you ask? Well, it was $28 to check a bag and $30 to bring a carry on.

How will I survive you ask? Well, I will bring a personal item. I am thinking my husbands computer backpack. It has several compartments that can hold all the essentials.

I am going for 5 nights. All I really need to bring is my bathing suit, flip flops, beach wrap, and 2 outfits ( I will be wearing one there). Oh, and a tooth brush. Everything else I can just get there!

This great deal could not have come at a better time! More post to follow on this much need trip!

Have you ever scored a killer deal on a flight or have you paid the extra for that carry on?

xoxo – Elizabeth

10 Responses to “Off to Florida with no luggage!”

  1. marsea April 6, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    No Luggage?
    No carry on?
    No problem!
    Wear your extra clothes and carry a B-I-G purse!
    Take clothing that can be crunched, rubber banded, jammed into a zip-lock bag, then stuffed in your purse.
    Wear your beach shoes. Leave the big wallet at home.
    I’m sure your Gammy will have everything else you need for fun in the sun.

  2. Suzy Eats April 8, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    they charge to carry on ?? that is crazy!

  3. Jessica April 9, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    That is crazy they charge for bags. I could never go anywhere without luggage having 2 kids.

    I hope you have a nice trip.

  4. Jocelyn April 11, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    It is impossible for me to pack light. I don’t know how you did! The big purse idea could work but I still think I’d come tumbling out. Safe travels.

  5. jessplassmeyer April 12, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    omg I can not even believe they charge for everything!!! Crazy!! I am so jealous of your travel tactics, I wish I could do that!

    Have an amazing trip!!

  6. Jennifer M. April 16, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Wow! You are brave. I’ve never gone anywhere without luggage! Sounds like an adventure though – maybe I’ll try it sometime.

  7. Suzan April 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    You have impressive survival skills to be able to travel with so little. We are just never going to tell my husband that this can be done.

Leave a Reply

