National Grilled Cheese Month!

18 Apr

I can’t believe the month is half over and I am just finding out about this! I must do my research. How long has April been NGCM?

When I say that I am obsessed with grilled cheese sandwiches I am not lying. It has caused more than one argument between me and my husband. When we are out to eat and I don’t find anything interesting on a menu – Grilled cheese it is. “Try something new!” he always says.. Why risk something new and not like it when I can order a wonderful Grilled Cheese and it is a guarantee win?

I often get a little wild and like to add tomato and some ham. With much excitement finding out today was NGCM, I googled grilled cheese and picked my favorites!

A few years back Oprah picked Cafe Muse, restaurant right down the street from me, for making one of the best Grilled Cheese! I have had it and I have to agree. I may even stop in this week just to honor this wonder month long holiday!

Ingredients:

  • 1 slice Havarti cheese
  • 1 slice mozzarella cheese
  • 1 slice Danish fontina cheese
  • 1/2 Tbsp. butter , softened (for best results, use high-quality butter)
  • Honey from a squeeze bear bottle
  • 1 tsp. fresh basil , chopped
  • 2 slices tomato
  • 2 slices bread (organic multigrain bread works best)
  • Sauté pan large enough for 2 slices of bread
If you can throw together a killer grilled cheese please share your recipe!
xoxo – Elizabeth
8 Responses to “National Grilled Cheese Month!”

  1. Jessica April 18, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I never knew there was a grilled cheese month. That recipe sounds good but I’m confused about the honey. Not sure how that would taste in it.

  2. Jennifer M. April 19, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Ha! That’s funny. I swear they add a new National something-or-other Month every year. I’ve never heard of this, but it’s a good idea!

  3. StephanieinSuburbia April 24, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Okay, you blew my mind with the honey. I have tried to fool around with cheese, like adding shaved asiago or something. But my little 17 month old, Wee ‘Burb, loooooves grilled cheese so I am going to try these and anything other people suggested.

    So glad we found each other! Loving your blog!

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife September 1, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      so delicious! This recipe is when I am feeling adventurous! Good luck, let me know how it goes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100th Post! « Single Life 2 Married Wife - September 1, 2012

    […] Did you know that April is National Grilled Cheese Month? Click the link to get a really killer Grilled Cheese […]

Leave a Reply

