Kentucky Derby

4 May

I came across a blog post over at Bunkycooks.com – Opening Day at Keeneland in Lexington, Kentucky and a Bourbon Drop Cocktail that made me realize that this is Kentucky Derby weekend.  If you have yet to make it to Derby weekend in Louisville, I highly recommend it!  We have gone several years now. We have done the Oaks on Friday (Cheaper) and the attended the infield festivities on Derby Saturday. I think the infield party is probably one of the dirtiest party I have ever been to! lol

I tried the Bourbon – not a fan – but I didn’t bring home a stack of the collectible glasses. This year we are missing the races. I guess my little sisters wedding is a good enough reason.. 😉

I may have more attraction to the races than most due to my Grandfather owning/breeding/training derby horses in the 80’s. My parents trained derby horses and they still know many of the trainers, jockeys, and owners.. It is amazing to hear their stories of their most memorable experience! How cool that would be!

xoxo – Elizabeth

12 Responses to “Kentucky Derby”

  1. Jessica May 5, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    I would say that your little sister’s wedding is a good reason to miss the Kentucky Derby.

  2. Branson May 5, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    I want to go just so I can wear a fun hat! 😉

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife May 5, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      The hats are beautiful! That was the theme for my wedding shower.. Everyone had to come is a big hat.

  3. bunkycooks May 5, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Thanks for the mention. Horse breeding/training and racing definitely is a fascinating lifestyle. Have fun at your sister’s wedding. 🙂

  4. Terri May 5, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    I would love to go to the Kentucky Derby one year… it looks like so much fun! Sipping a mint julep with a big hat on sounds like a lot of fun too!

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by my blog during comment hour last nigh!

  5. Elena May 5, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    How fun! Yes, your little sisters wedding is a good reason. 😉 My mom used to do the infield party when she was younger…oh the stories I’ve heard!

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife May 5, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

      The infield.. I can’t even describe how wrong it is.LOL

      But I highly recommend everyone going at least once!

  6. Jennifer M. May 7, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    That sounds really fun! I’ve never been but it looks like it’d be a neat thing to attend.

  7. classycareergirl May 8, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Love your hat! Super cute!

  8. Jess @UsedYorkCity September 22, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    I’m definitely going to have to make it back down to Louisville for the Derby! I can imagine the infield gets PRETTY rowdy, and I’d love to see all the fun fashion folks are sporting!:-)

Leave a Reply

