Phone Calls

10 May

It drives my husband nuts how often I talk with my family. I have to agree (but would never admit) that I do spend a lot of time on the phone with them. When you have three sisters what do you expect!

The oldest, Christine lives in upper Michigan about 5 hours away. She has a little boy and a baby girl on the way. We see her family on all major holidays and every so often in between. Since we started playing Words with Friends the phone calls have cut back a little bit. =)

The other middle child, Katherine just moved from Louisville to Maryland. She is married with the sweetest little 3-year-old girl. ( I think I am her favorite) We see them mostly on major holidays. We have recently started Skyping a few times a week. This way I get to see my little niece as well as chat with my sister. But even Skype can turn into hour-long conversation.

The youngest, Alexandra (just got married) lives about 30 minutes north and very close to my parents. We see each other often. With all the wedding planning done, I can probably count on the phone calls to die down a bit.

Then you have my parents. 8 out of 10 calls are usually from my father. He loves to call and pretend he doesn’t know who is on the phone and will ask for about 3 minutes. “Who is this?” – Drives me nuts. My usual response ” Hi Dad, It’s your daughter, Elizabeth, you called me.” He will always respond with “WHO?”

Last but not least, my Grandmother. I call her at least 3-4 times a week. These calls are usually on my way home from work to check in on the weather or to see what is for dinner.

So I am curious, do you spend a lot of time on the phone talking with family?

14 Responses to “Phone Calls”

  1. Branson May 11, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    You and your sister are ALL so pretty!! Me? I hate talking on the phone. I do, however, spend way too much time on my phone doing other things like texting and tweeting 😉 I am lucky, though, and my little sisters both live within a mile of me! So sweet that you are close to your dad like that! You are a lucky girl!

  2. Jessica May 11, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Beautiful pictures! Lucky you to have so many sisters that you like talking to.

    I talk to my mom everyday. My husband doesn’t mind.

  3. trininista May 11, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    I am closest to my mum and when I am in London I skype with her as often as humanly possible. When I am at home, I call her as much as 5 times a day – we live in the same house. lol. She is out now and I have already called her 3 times. lol.

  4. Sarah May 12, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    lol at your dad’s phone calls! 🙂 it’s clear that you love and appreciate your family so much – i loved reading about them all! my dad passed away about 8 years ago and i would love to get even just a silly phone call from him now!

    i talk to my mom and sister a couple times a week each on the phone. my fiance can’t complain though because HIS mom calls him daily and me a couple times a week too….

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife May 14, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

      the phone really starts ringing when Dancing with the Stars is on. LOL…

      I feel the same way about my Gramdpa. I would love just one more phone call…

  5. Katie May 14, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    I think it’s really super sweet that you’re close with your family and talk to them often!!

    With me and my family – we all live in the same city, so I guess it’s a little different. I talk to my mom pretty much every day on the phone. My dad hates the phone, and he’ll only answer it if my mom is unable to get it LOL. I usually go up to their house one day on the weekend, so I see them at least once a week.
    I have a brother and a sister. I usually only talk to them on the phone if I need something, or they need something and they call me (I’m really not a phone person).
    The two of them don’t get along at all (though I get along with both of them), so family gatherings where both of them are present can be pretty annoying and don’t happen very often.

    I wish I had the tight-knit relationship that you have with your siblings especially!

  6. Elena May 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Great pics! I actually don’t spend a lot of time on the phone…I’m more of a texter and on email. I’m a shut-in! 😉

  7. Miranda H. May 14, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    I try to spend a lot of time with my family but i am not as good at calling them as i should be! I stay in good touch with my father thought and my mother in law.

    Thank you so much for stopping by #commenthour

  8. Amy @ A Little Nosh May 15, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I talk to my mom almost every day but that’s it. I’m not a phone person. I talk to my SILs on IM pretty often (a few times a week).

  9. Jennifer M. May 15, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I actually hardly ever call my family, or anyone else, for that matter. I’m just not a phone person really.

    I do web-cam my sister once a week, if that counts. Also I email my mom usually once or twice a week and visit her a couple times a month. So I do keep in touch, just not via the phone.

  10. Rose's Daughter May 18, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    I am close to my family too, even though I have two brothers rather than sisters!
    Here from comment hour

  11. Diane @ OhDiane May 18, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I have two sisters so I can definitely relate. Visiting form #commenthour

  12. Kenzi May 18, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I love the colors & the dresses in the top photo! My best friend (might as well be my sister) is about to be married and we are scoping out ideas 🙂

    Kenzi
    http://thecardiqueen.blogspot.com

  13. paula May 18, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Love it… I talk to my mom all the time. Wish I was closer with my sister.

    Great blog, new follower from SITS Commenthour!
    http://realhousewifeofsingapore.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

