Is this Juicable?

17 May

We received a juicer for our wedding almost 2 years ago.  It has been sitting on our kitchen counter just waiting to be put to good use, until recently.

A few weeks back, while at the grocery store I stocked up on apples, carrots and strawberries. Now that fruit is starting to go down in $$ I bought a little to much.  Since it is just me and my husband there was no way we were going to be able to eat it all before it went bad. With my quick thinking 😉 I whipped out the ole juicer.

We are a good month into juicing now.  I try to make a batch in the evening (one  8 oz glass) and then have enough for a glass in the morning before work. So far my favorite to juice: Handful of tall carrots, 4 apples, a few celery stalks  (very potent taste) and strawberries.

Tonight I switched my line-up a little: Strawberries, Apples, Carrots, Lemon, Tomato, Blueberries.

I had some blueberries to add to the mix, but I was not sure that they would juice. I pulled out a hand blender, dropped in the berries, a handful of ice, and a few scoops of vanilla yogurt. After it was blended I poured in some juice. It was so delicious. My husband gave it two thumbs up! Well, not really, but he really enjoyed it.

Make sure that you clean all of the appliance after use. It can get pretty messy!

If you have not have the opportunity to juice, I highly recommend it! If you have, what do you like to blend together?

xoxo – Elizabeth

48 Responses to “Is this Juicable?”

  1. Jessica May 18, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    I have a juicer and I love it in the summer.

    One of the juices I make a lot is…
    kale
    apple
    cucumber
    celery
    lemon

    It’s green but the apple and cucumber make it sweeter and the lemon cuts some of the green taste.

  2. Single Life 2 Married Wife May 18, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    This was the first time I added a lemon.. wow, it sure makes a difference. very tart! I am not a huge fan of Cucumbers, but its always worth a try!

    Do you ever do carrots? If you peel them first, they taste less earthy. The juice is very sweet.

  3. Karolina May 18, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Visiting from comment hour! I want a juicer so badly! In Ecuador every morning my family made juice- my favorite was fresh mango! Delicious!

  4. Marie Noelle May 18, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I’m actually looking to buy a juicer right now! Is yours working fine? What brand is it?

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife May 18, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      Sharper image from Bed Bath and Beyond. I love it! I have had a few and returned a couple that didn’t “juice” very good.

  5. webly May 18, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    This looks yummy. I had a juicer and gave it away. it was just too messy and I hate cleaning.
    Hello from #commenthour

  6. paperartscene May 18, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I like making fresh juice/smoothies, but I don’t like drinking veggies. I only use fruit and sorbet with apple juice.

    Visiting from #commenthour.

  7. ManWifeDog May 18, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Ha, I have a list as long as my arm of things we got for our wedding that we need to find good reasons to use. THis is a great idea ladies!!!

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife May 18, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      we have a closet full. But until we move into our “family” house the pyrex, the conv oven, and all the other random things will have to stay in the upstairs closet..

  8. Jessica @FoundtheMarbles May 18, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    I’ve got to start juicing more. I hear that kale is terrific for juicing. Maybe this will get me going!

  9. Ann Odle May 18, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Stopping by from the Comment Hour; that drink looks deliscious!

  10. Sturgmom May 18, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    I’m fascinated by the idea of juicing, but I don’t know if I can take the plunge. I’m pretty sure I just like smoothies!

  11. Handy Man, Crafty Woman May 18, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    I love smoothies but I don’t want to bother making them myself, lol! Looks good.

    came over from the SITS comment hour.

  12. Ginger May 18, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    haha, i love the title of this post!

    i do not “juice”, lol. unless it is pre-juiced in a plastic jug.

    grape juice is one of my favorites but i don’t know how that would taste home-juiced.

    i think the word juice is my new favorite, lol.

  13. TheProDiva May 18, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Like you, I never had use for a juicer until recently. I really like making fresh apple juice, and I also use strawberry juice in my martinis! Thanks for sharing, and keep juicing!

  14. StephanieinSuburbia May 18, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I don’t juice. It feels weird using that as a verb. I do use my Cuisinart quite a bit to throw some berries in with yogurt to make smoothies. But I’m not much for actual juice.

    That said, I’m with Man Wife: I have a million things from our wedding that we haven’t used, including a batter dispenser I HAD TO HAVE when we registered.

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife May 18, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      LOL. i agree. I’m a juicer..

      we have a whole closet full of “must haves” that we have yet to use.

  15. @jordynrose_ May 18, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Juicing! That’s going to be my next adventure. I am still enjoying making smoothies with my blender, lol 🙂 Juiced carrots really are the best though!

  16. Kari May 18, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Okay-now I want a juicer! To bad we won’t be able to afford one anytime soon 😦 I already love your blog but I’m here from #commenthour anyway-congrats on being picked!

    Kari

  17. Jessica May 18, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    I have always wanted to try juicing but never have gotten up the ‘umph’ to purchase a juicer. Humm… Maybe I’ll make it my Christmas ‘I Want’ item. By the way- this all looks very yummy!-Jessica
    #commenthour
    http://mommiesblog2011.blogspot.com/

  18. Amy May 18, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I don’t own a juicer. The one you made looks delicious though.

    #commenthour

  19. Catalina May 18, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    I’m not a juicer but your post made it tempting to try it out. How can you go wrong with blueberries!! *drools*

  20. Victoria May 18, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    I love how adventurous you are in combining different veggies and fruits. I’m the type that would rather follow a recipe, but after reading your post I might try to come up with my own creations.

    visiting from #commenthour

  21. Jenny Schweigert May 18, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Love your site!! This is great motivation to get our juicer out of storage. We used to be very dedicated juicers…love an apple/carrot combination…throw a little spinach in there & you won’t even notice. I’ll be back to read more…came over from @sitsgirls #commenthour

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife May 19, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      It is a great habit to get into. Now that the fruit season is here, it makes it less expensive to keep up on it.

  22. stephanie snyder May 18, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    MKAY. I’m craving juice now. I did the exact same thing with my blender – let it collect dust but look pretty on the countertop for a few years, and then, one day, BOOM – smoothie addict! 😀

    stopping in from comment hour!

  23. 2commentaristas May 19, 2011 at 3:48 am #

    I think I now want to get a juicer. I have a friend who is a fan of juicing herbs and vegetables with a lot of apples and other fruits to mask the taste (otherwise, she just does not eat vegetables, which harms her health a significant amount), but I never got into it. After looking at this blog post, I’m seriously thinking of borrowing her juicer and giving it a go!

    visiting from #commenthour

  24. Mimzy Wimzy May 19, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    I wish I had that much ambition. I used to put yogurt & fruit in the blender and then freeze little containers of it to stick in Hubbys lunch. By the time lunch came around it was the consistency of a smoothie and he loved it. This post may motivate me to make them again for him.
    #commenthour

  25. Branson May 19, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Wow, that juice is so PRETTY! lol

  26. Jen {at} take2mommy May 19, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Those juice drinks you made look yum! Huz and I got a juicer for a wedding gift too. No idea where it is. It’s been buried either in the attic or the garage for 8 years. Sigh.
    Stopping by from SITS #commenthour. Better late than never I hope?

  27. Elena May 19, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    My son loves to make smoothies. Loves them. We’re constantly running our blender. Great pics of the juice!

  28. Angela @ Keeping Up with the Joneses May 19, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    I have a juicer but sometimes I find myself making it in the blender.

    Or I cave and go to Planet Smoothie!

    Great Blog!

    Stopping by from #commenthour

  29. marsea May 21, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    My husband LOVED to juice but he didn’t like to clean the juicer afterwards. I scrubbed that thing out for several weeks then washed it one final time, packed it up and hid it. I told him somebody must have come in the middle of the night and borrowed it or stole it. We have never juiced again and I don’t care.

  30. Jackie @ It's a Wahm Life June 1, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    I’d like to juice, but I wonder just how expensive it will be… you get so little juice for so much fruit. Wouldn’t it just be better to eat it? :)Visiting from #commenthour (a week or two late!)

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife June 1, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

      now that it is summer, the price is a lot cheaper!

      I have a 1/2 off produce rack at my grocery store. I can get 6 apples for $.40

  31. Amy @ A Little Nosh June 2, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    If I had a juicer, I’d be a juicin’ fool! Mmmm!!!

    Stopping in from #CommentHour.

  32. Jennifer M. June 5, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    I don’t have a juicer, but I do use a blender regularly to make smoothies. I love putting in soy milk, orange juice, baby spinach leaves, blueberries, and bananas. Sometimes I add different fruits (kiwis, peaches, etc), depending on what I have on hand. I love that although you can’t taste the spinach, it’s totally giving you the fiber you need, and the other things give it a great flavor.

  33. the Blah Blah Blahger September 21, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    Get some spinach in there, too!

    Also, here’s a cleaning tip. Run water through it after you’ve made your juice. It will make cleaning much easier!

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife September 21, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      I have added spinach before. You cant even taste it! And you are right – if you let the juicer sit, it will take for ever to clean! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

