Summer Weekends

23 May

I am not sure when summer arrived, but I am sure glad to see you again. Last weekend I was driving down our street and all of a sudden noticed the big old oak trees were full of life with huge green leaves. When the hell did that happen?

Many of the spring-flowering trees have already come and gone. The lilac bushes, which are my favorite, are just finishing up their bloom and we have already cut the grass and laid a bunch of seed down. It is unbelievable how fast time flies by.

In early May I sent my husband a calendar of what our summer was going look like. I was pleasantly surprised that we actually have a lot of free weekends this year.

Say we have 16 weekends to enjoy the warm summer weather, give or take a few. Here is how I broke it down for him.

  • Three baby showers: It seems as though we have made it past the summers of weddings (we had 9 in one summer once!) and have moved on to baby showers and 30th Bday parties!
  • Two 30th Birthday parties (not including mine)
  • Memorial Weekend at Grandma’s Cottage.
  • 4th of July weekend and my 30th – Taking the week off to celebrate!
  • Family Reunion

I am very excited that SO FAR only 8 of the 16 weekends are spoken for. This is going to be a great summer of free time, traveling, boating, and just enjoying the warm weather!

How is your summer looking and how many free weekends do you have?!

9 Responses to “Summer Weekends”

  1. Jessica May 23, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Summer is always so much fun but also very busy. I look forward to long days spent in the sun on the boat.

  2. Elena May 23, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    I remember when all my friends were getting married/having showers summers were like this – it calms down once everyone has kids. Trust me. 😉

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife June 3, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      yes, we are in baby showers this summer. Next summer is another round of weddings. Lots of engagements this year..

  3. trininista May 25, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    Summer here has been more like hell freezing over. lol. But hopeful. Fingers crossed. Looking to get out of the capital more and into the rest of the UK

  4. Handy Man, Crafty Woman June 1, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Oh yeah. I remember having about 8 weddings in about a 6 month span! 🙂 Came over from the SITS comment hour.

  5. Jennifer M. June 5, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Yeah it’s funny how most summers are so FULL! I absolutely hate being busy, but for some reason the summers demand it. It’s like, half the world is out of school, so they drag the rest of us out to party! Lol.

Leave a Reply

