Girl Gone Hunting

2 Jan

My father “Big Al” was blessed with four daughter in four years. He loves all of us very much, but I have to imagine that he would have liked at least one boy to do boy stuff with.  For as long as I can remember he always wanted us to go hunting with him. Every season he asks and we say “Sure Dad” but I don’t think any of us really went.

Well, this was my year. I agreed to come out to their farm, spend the night, and get up early to go hunting. We got up at 7:00 am. Drove the truck to the back of the property to the “Man Cave”. As we pulled up a few deer were exiting the field.  We sat there for a few hours. The air was chilly but was so fresh and clean that it was didn’t matter. We watched a hawk fly in and try to catch a rodent, squirrels were zooming up and down the trees not knowing we were watching, and we caught sight of two young deer come to the edge of the field.

By noon I was ready to head back to the house. Big Al protested a little by my decision but agreed to take me in. I took a nap when we got back and at 3:00 pm it was time to head back out. I may have protested to my mother, but reluctantly put back on all my camo and made my way to the truck.  We can across a bunch of wild turkeys. Those things are really tall! lol. They scurried away as we approached them not really bothered by us.

We got back to the “Man Cave” and this time I called the Comfy chair and jumped in the blind first to claim it. I also positioned all the heaters around me. 😉 We sat there for maybe 45 minutes before it all happened. The snow was zipping around the field when the first deer entered the field. Big Al handed me the camera and said to start filming. The deer made his way into range and KABOOM. The deer dropped. While I was filming I got very sad. I was saying in my head “Run little guy Run” but, Big Al was pleased. As he settled down he asked if I wanted to go in. I was unsure until directly on the other side of the Man Cave there were two Bucks standing there eating. Now Big Al said they were about 75-80 yards out.. I had no idea really.

My heart sank. With out speaking, I handed the camera to Big Al and he hand me the gun. I put it up to my eye.  My heart was pounding in my back of my throat. Big Al asked if the safety was off and I whispered I have no idea. He leaned over to make sure I turned in off. I focused on the buck for what seemed like a hour.  They slowly made their way directly in front of us when something caught their attention. Their tails went up and the first buck trotted off. I can hear Big Al in my ear saying NOW NOW… The only thought in my head was “what if I wound it”. “Shoot NOW Elizabeth, NOW!” Big Al still whispering.

I pulled the trigger….. and the buck dropped instantly. There was a split second of silence and then Big Al erupted with cheers! I sat there in shock and began crying.  Big Al was extremely proud that he finally had one of his daughter get their first buck and I sat there crying. All I could say was ” I am very emotional right now.”

Minutes passed and Big Al jumped out of the blind to check out my first kill. I called my mother. She quickly answered knowing that we were in the back of the farm and several gun shots had gone off.  ” Mom, I got a deer.” Big Al shouts ” A Buck, you got a Buck” She asked what was wrong. I told her that I could not stop crying. She consoled me for a few minutes before I let her go.

I continued to weep as I approached the deer.  Big Al went to get the truck. I jumped in to go pick up his deer in the north field. We then headed back to the south field to pick up mine. Now I am not going to go into detail, but I knew what was coming next. Not only did I have to “Assit” in dressing my deer my father had one also.

A few hours later when all was said and done I started to feel a little better. We have lots of yummy venison!

Have you ever had this experience?

xoxo – E

8 Responses to “Girl Gone Hunting”

  1. Marsea January 2, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    I started hunting as a freshman in College. I practiced trap shooting, perfecting my aim, I had all the gear, and found the biggest thrill was being outside early, the air brisk, watching the dawn brightening the eastern horizon. I was a goose and duck hunter mostly and loved the beautiful plumage of the ducks. The faster ducks, Redheads, Canvasbacks, would do fly-bys of our blind, like blurs of red jets, making my heart hammer with excitement. I enjoyed the hunt, the chase, but not the actual bagging of the game. Somehow I couldn’t justify it in my head nor my heart, and now much prefer to shoot with a camera.. .

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife January 2, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

      Marsea – I agree, I also like to take photos. Maybe next time I will just take my camera, if Big Al is not around 😉

  2. Katie January 2, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    Welcome back to the blogosphere!
    I don’t think I could hunt, even though I’m not even a big fan of animals… I’m even less of a fan of guns. But it’s kinda cool that you got to have the bonding experience with your dad 🙂

    Like the previous commenter, I think I’d prefer to shoot with my camera as well 🙂

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife January 2, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

      Katie thanks for the comment! I kinda took a time out and didn’t realize hoe fast time was going.

      It was a very weird emotion and I thought about that event for a while after. I am okay now, and would be able to do it again, but still very weird.

  3. Amber January 3, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    We start going on hunting trips from birth. It’s in put blood. Congrats on the deer.

  4. Maria January 5, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    That’s so crazy! Bet your dad was super proud 🙂 It sounds very exciting and like it definitely requires lots of patience.

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife January 6, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      He is super pumped. He already mounted the little guy and is hanging next to his 6 monster bucks on their wall! LOL

  5. Chasing Joy October 4, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Wow! This is such an interesting experience. I love the fact that you got some one on one time with your dad and he was proud of you. On the other hand I would never want to go hunting. I don’t think it is wrong for humans to kill animals for food or clothing. I just want to be far removed from the process. Thanks or linking up for #FlashbackFriday

Leave a Reply

