The Love Dare: Part 1 of 8

6 Jan

For Christmas one of my sisters gave me a beautiful book, The Love Dare. (The book in this link is not what mine looks like).  If I was ever going to judge a book by its cover it would be now. It has a beautiful brown warn leatherish type cover. I held the book and ran my hands over the material several times and just admired it. The edge has a beautiful design around it and the back has a beautiful scripture on it – 1 Corinthians 13: 7-8 “Love Bears all things, Believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things, love never fails.”

My sister had bought the book with someone else in mind and then decided that she wanted to give it to me.

The love dare is a 40 day challenge. I decided that every five days I wanted to share with you my challenges.

Day 1: Love is patient – When you are patient you are slow to anger and stops the foolishness from taking over. Patience is wise.
Challenge: Do not say anything negative for the day.

Day 2: Love is kind – Kindness is broken into 4 categories – Gentleness, helpfulness, willingness, and initiative.
Challenge: As well as be positive, do an unexpected act of kindness

Day 3: Love is not selfish – We live in a world that revolves around “Self”.  You can not act out of real love and selfishness at the same time.
Challenge: Along with restraining from negativity, buy something unexpected for your spouse.

Day 4: Love is thoughtful – Thoughtlessness is the silent enemy to a loving relationship.
Challenge: Contact your spouse during the work day to see how they are doing or if they need anything.

Day 5: Love is not rude – Treat your spouse how you want to be treated, no double standards, and honor requests!

By no means do my summarys do any justice to this book. I highly recommend that you pick up next time you are out! This book has brought a new light to our marriage. Even though my husband has yet to read it or even knows that I am,  it will be very beneficial in the end..

XOXO – Elizabeth

10 Responses to “The Love Dare: Part 1 of 8”

    • Sandy January 7, 2012 at 2:41 am #

      Very Good advice to follow.

  1. Optimistic Mom January 7, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    I do think that we need to do things to keep our marriages happy. I think after the “newness” wears off we forget the things that made us fall in love. I am guilty of falling into a routine, so I do try to stop and focus on the more important things. Thanks for sharing the highlights of this book, sounds like a good one!

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife January 9, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      I feel the book, so far, is helping to bring me back to what reality (for a lack of better words) It has made me conscious of my actions, words, my husbands feelings. All that can be easily put on the back burner. Thanks for the post!

  2. Ms. Positivity January 7, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    I have this book and I love it. No im not married but when i read it- it made some great points. A deep relationship/marriage should refer to this when needed. many times we forget to do these things and this book is a great reminder what love really is and how it should be!

    Visiting from #FBF

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife January 9, 2012 at 10:36 am #

      I completely agree. This book can be used to better yourself and how you act and treat yourself and even family. Thank you for stopping by!

  3. Laci January 7, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    I hope you and your husband enjoy the book. My hubs and both have done it.

  4. Ellen January 22, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    I am planning on reading this book. I would love if my hubby would join me, but I don’t hold out hope. We’ve been married almost 20 years and he isn’t a reader. I love Bible studies, and he can’t see a reason to do them himself.

    Thanks for visiting me at A Season for All Things. I’m your newest follwer andn look forward to reading more of your posts. ~ Ellen

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife January 22, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

      The book does a good job of not making it to “preachy” if that makes sense. I nice quick read but hold a lot of value! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

