Monday Memories

30 Jan

Sometime I really miss how easy life was growing up. Dinner was always ready, long summer vacations,  and the excitement of Christmas.

Top 10 favorite memories

1 Summer Vacation. Each summer my mother would send us up to our grandparents cottage at Houghton Lake. There was no other place my sisters and I would rather be. Months of warms sunny weather and floating in the lake morning to dark.

2. TV shows and Movies: Saved by the bell, Fresh Prince of Belair, TGIF on Friday nights, Goonies, Harry and the Hendersons, Monsters under my bed.

3. Snow: Do you remember those days? We would play for hours in the snow. sledding, making snowmen, snowball fight, tobogganing

4. Riding the Bus: At the time we HATED riding the bus. But it is a fun memory. When we say the lights in the morning coming down the hill we would all rush out the door yelling “BUUSSSSSS” for all the neighbor kids to come running.

5. Sports:  A few years ago I blew out my right shoulder. Havent played since.  But I was really good at Shot Put and decent at Volleyball.

6. 84′ caprice classic: Each of my sisters drove this car when we were in high school. We named her the Blue Bessy and she was nondestructive!  We would fit four comfortably across the front bench seat and five across the back. That car rocked!

7. Pets: We grew up with a lot of pets. Dogs, Cats, Chickens, Ponies…. Living on a farm are memories that I will also cherish. We used to have hundreds of chickens that would roam free. Which meant they were everywhere. In the trees, they would sneak in the porch, some even made it into the house.

8. Sharing a room: This was torture growing up. “Stay on your side” and “Where is my favorite shirt”.  Now I can’t wait until I am together with my sisters again. I alway smile when I think of the penny fights in the middle of the night.

9. Trips to Florida: Every Easter break we would load the car and we would drive to Florida to see our Grandparents. From Michigan it was about 21 hours.  We would usually get to take off an extra week when we went. By the second day on the sun we had to wear our t-shirts we would be so sun burnt.

10. Sleepovers: Literally every weekend we would have a house full of 15+ girls. Since there were 4 of us we each would a handful of friends over.   My dad would just go to his room and we would take over the house.  We would move all the mattress into the living room, get tons of junk food, and rent cheesy movies.

Though I miss the good old days. I got it pretty good now.  Still have my parents farm (only one chicken left), when my sisters come into town we have sleepovers. We still head to Houghton Lake in the summer and head to Florida for a short stay in the winter to to see our wonderful Grandmother. We sold the Caprice, but my dad swears he still see it on the road.

What are some of your favorite childhood memories?

xoxo – Elizabeth

9 Responses to “Monday Memories”

  1. Angie January 30, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    My favorite memory is of my parents taking my brother,sister, and I to Baskin Robbins as children. We would all beg for double or even triple scoops of ice cream! Apparently I was a messy ice cream eater bc the big joke was to wait and see how much ice cream I had left stuck to the sides of my mouth when I was done! What’s funny is I do this with my child, only we go to ColdStone, and she eats ice cream just like I used to! Xoxo thanks for jogging my memory! Now I’m all smiles 🙂

  2. laci512 January 30, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    My best friend in high school had a caprice. It was awesome!! We had so many good times in that car. We could fit everyone in there. 🙂 So many good times. It makes me giggle each time I think about that car.

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife January 30, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

      LOL – it was a great car. The radio had buttons you would push that would send the dial zipping across to your “favorite” station. (memories)

  3. My Inner Chick January 30, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    —Elizabeth,
    Your sleep-overs sound FAB 🙂
    What movies did you guys watch? x

  4. Mental Mosaic January 31, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Oh, yeah! Sleepovers were a blast. 🙂

    Love going to camp each summer, where we learned to sail (and we also swore like sailors the whole time.)

    I really miss sleeping outside in the summertime, watching shooting stars and hearing coyotes in the distance.

    Lotsa great memories! And, yeah, so little responsibility… Could read books all day and not feel the slightest bit guilty, too, (as long as my chores were done first).

    ~Tui
    p.s. I dropped by from your Twitter blog hop. 🙂

  5. kimberly montgomery February 3, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I found you because of it and I’m so glad I did. I just LOVE this post. Some of your fun memories are mine too. Not the actual places, but the family time. We had a goat and a pony (as well as dogs and cats.) And one of my best friends had a Caprice.

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife February 3, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      that is awesome, thanks for stopping by! how funny are those cars! LOL.. Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. Chasing Joy February 13, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Some of my favoriet memories growing up werer reading on the front porch with my mom. She with her novel me with my picture book. I felt so mature.

    I also loved the holidays planning pranks with my dad, going to see the holiday festivities in center city with my family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

