Wordless Wednesday

1 Feb

My mother hand painted this map as a Christmas gift for my husband.   I wish this picture did a better job showing  how beautiful it really is. The details are just amazing. We have a cottage in the tip of the thumb, so this will be beautiful to frame and hang on the wall!

Are you interested in a painting like this?

xoxo – Elizabeth

10 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday”

  1. My Inner Chick February 1, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    –Very Cool.
    Your mother is quite talented.
    Did hubs like it?

    Xx

  2. Mental Mosaic February 1, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    Cool! What did she use as a reference for the map? Looks great!

    ~Tui, from #commenthour

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife February 1, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

      yes – she does a lot of research. THe type of fish, ship wrecks, light houses, even the flags across the top spell our last name, in flag language.

  3. Kimberly February 1, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    VERY AWESOME! I would possibly be interested in something like that 🙂 Great gift idea!

  4. Pepper February 1, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    I think it is lovely and I would definitively buy one, my husband loves maps!

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife February 3, 2012 at 9:32 am #

      Hi! thanks for stopping by. do you have a lot of maps already. I bought a beautiful one on our honeymoon in antigua that I framed.. love

  5. Nicole Rivera February 2, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    As the page opened and I saw the picture I thought, “Cool… what is that? Paper? A huge sheet? That looks really amazing…”
    Then I scrolled down to read the description.
    WHAT?!
    YOUR MOTHER PAINTED THAT?!
    She’s amazing.
    No. I’m not joking. Incredibly talented.
    I have been wowed.
    That is all. #commenthour

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife February 2, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

      She has the ability to create ANYTHING and whenever she has finished a new project I feel the same way.. How the hell do you do that! This is actually a large piece of thick canvas… #wishicoulddrawastickfigure… Thanks for stopping by! xo

  6. Sarah (@MadeinUSABlog) February 3, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    I LOVE map prints, and the fact that it was hand drawn by someone who loves you makes it even more fabulous. We lived in DC for 7 years and bought a print of a map of the area down by a local artist. We have since moved to PA but the print is still up in it’s frame and is a constant reminder of good memories!
    Visiting from comment hour.

  7. Chasing Joy February 5, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    That is a very nice map and a thoughtful gift. I like hearing about inlaws getting along 🙂

    #commenthour

Leave a Reply

