White Kitchen Mites

28 May

I have not been in the kitchen much that last couple months and even less in the last month. This past week I was filling a vase of flowers and noticed dust all over the faucet. As I leaned VERY close I noticed that the dust was moving ever so slowly. GROSS! What the hell are those! I found them all over the kitchen sink and on a couple things around the sink.

I wiped down the sink and faucet with Soft Scrub with Bleach and within seconds of wiping it away they were back. I immediately Googled my little problem “tiny white kitchen mites” and found a few articles. Some called it mold mites, or flour mites.

We were going away for Memorial weekend so I stopped at Home Depot to pick up some Damp Rid and a mold/mildew spray. I sprayed down the counter and put a few containers out. Hoping my problem was coming from moisture under the sink. We turned a fan on and went away.

When we returned our little house guests were still here. Frustrated I sprayed them with Lysol and wiped them away.. (they instantly came back) When I opened our food cupboards they party had grown! I pulled the garbage bin and threw out everything that was open. It did end up being mostly pastas, noodles, flours, mixes… So I Googled again… Maybe these little suckers are food mites…

I NEED HELP!! How do I get rid of these nasty tiny little bugs and have you ever had then.

 

UPDATE: After a lot of hard work, sprays, wiping and cleaning the damn little bugs went away on their own!

xoxo – Elizabeth

8 Responses to “White Kitchen Mites”

  1. Lindsey Duncan Renuard June 11, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    I wish I could help! I don’t know what they are either.

  2. arzea September 18, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    Ewww, how annoying!

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife September 18, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      they one day were gone….. poof… well, they started to be less and then bigger ones came, and then POOF!

  3. tracie b March 5, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

    So what products did you spray to get rid of the mites in your kitchen? I must have the same problem but all through my house!,

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife May 14, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

      Honestly, I am not sure. We sprayed everything! Spring came and went any they started to disappear! Knock on wood. I wish you the best of luck. These things can play mind games on you!

  4. Sanjulee September 27, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    We are also having the same problem in house…
    I am also searching on net how to get rid of it… it is so annoying to see those tiny creatures specially in kitchen

  5. msgracie August 20, 2014 at 2:33 am #

    I had the same problem. 1cup vinegar, 1/2cup lemon juice, and 1/4 salt mixed in a spray bottle will kill the little mites. It dries them up. Spray everywhere once a day for a week but wipe down with hot wet cloth every other day and it will disappearfor good. Get rid of the source – usually grain foods.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100th Post! « Single Life 2 Married Wife - September 1, 2012

    […] White Kitchen Mites […]

Leave a Reply

