Crab Dinner

24 Sep

While cruising through Kroger looking for dinner I can across a sale on “fresh” frozen crab legs. For some reason it really caught my eye and I pulled the cart over to see what this sale was all about.

It looked really good, but I have never cooked crab legs at home or had any idea of how to go about it. SO – I bought them anyways! It was a large package with about 5-6 sections of legs. (Is that what they are called?)

I did a little Googling of how to prepare these things and it ended up being really simple! I boiled a large pot of water, sprinkled in some salt and placed the legs in for about seven minutes.

I also Googled what is a good side to serve with crab legs. Everywhere I read said the simpler the better.  I sauteed some spinach and added parmesan cheese with a little salt. I also melted some butter and added a little garlic salt for taste.

As I was setting the dinner table I remembered that we received a cracker set at our wedding. Since this was the first time I had attempted to cook crab legs I had no idea where they were. After searching several cupboards I finally found them!

We had a lovely time messing with the crab legs. As my husband pulled his apart he would eat them, where I would pull them apart and put them in a pile to save until the end. As my pile of crab meat grew my husbands eyes got bigger and bigger. “I didn’t pick the right legs.” I had to explain that I was saving my until the end which made it look like a lot.

So next time we cook crab legs we are going to compile all the meat onto one plate and then divide it up. 😉

Now that I am newly into the cooking crab leg world, do you have a secret tips or pointers to make the next pot every better?

XOXO – Elizabeth

4 Responses to “Crab Dinner”

  1. Jess @UsedYorkCity September 24, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Yay, glad it was a success! My grandma’s not-so-secret ingredients are Old Bay seasoning and lots and lots of butter. Voila! The perfect crab legs:-)

    • Single Life 2 Married Wife September 24, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

      I did read Old Bay seasoning a few times.. I guess I need to pick some up!! Thanks for stopping by! xoxo

  2. lisajlukowski September 25, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    I’ve never attempted to make crab legs, but maybe I should as you made it seem really simple! My favorite seasoning is a Sam Adams seasoning that Joe’s Crab Shack uses. It’s got a lot of flavor and spices.

    One word of advice from past experience: Never eat crab legs with acrylic nails. Your nails will smell fishy for weeks!

Leave a Reply

