Archive | 1:05 pm

Life Before Kids

24 Aug

We have had the discussion that we are kid ready. As the months come and go, it has been a crazy cycle of emotions. Excited, nervous, anxious, bummed…. You can read stuff all day on how to prepare, how your life will change, the good, the bad, the ugly. I saw an article over at the Nest.com that sparked my thoughts on this.

Hitting the big 30 this summer wasn’t so bad. I am in a great place in my life and ready for change and to hit the next stage of our lives. My only thoughts are what have I missed out on while I am young and childless. I know life continues after kids, but there is always that “I should have done that” wish list.

So, since we still have some time as a little family of 2, ( well 3, sorry Houghtie)   I thought what would I like to do before we have a little rug rat running around.(Houghtie)

TOP 10 LIST

1. Travel to Ireland – Most desired place to visit. I read a book in college “Round Ireland with a Fridge“.I don’t recall much about the book now, but it was so visual and the way the land was described has had me very intrigued.

2. Sky Dive – Not sure I really want to do this, but it is always on the list of things to try! ( After looking at picture, I just got really nervous and will probably NEVER do this!)

3. Vegas – This makes me nervous, but I think I need to experience it. Maybe next spring for my BFF’s bach party 😉

4. Call in to work – I always wanted to just call in and do nothing all day. I am not sure that I will do this, but it sounds relaxing =)

5. Take the time to get physically healthy. – Not that I am UNhealthy, but I could spend more time taking care of myself. It’s hard after a long work day to get to the gym…. humphf…

6. Be more carefree – I am always the one to make sure we make it home at a decent hour, I never leave our car in a parking lot after the night out, and I always make sure everyone is home safe. So pretty much – I need to let that all go for a while and enjoy my evening.

7. Attend more happy hours – I enjoy a happy hour every so often. As the summer months are winding down this would be a great time to stop after work with friends or the hubs enjoy a few drinks and dinner then head home. Why not, right?

8. Just drive – We are always driving somewhere. Honestly, I love this time with my husband. Just the two of us and Houghtie passed out in the back seat. We go back and forth on how cold the car is and what song will play next, but it is a good time for us to just be together.  One Friday night it would be fun to just get in the car and drive. ( obviously plan something out) Go to a city we have never been and spend the weekend!

9. By a cheap plane ticket to somewhere we have never been. Right now you can get deals for CHEAP! Remember my flight to Florida and how cheap that was!  Plan a cheap weekend away. Set a budget and see what we can get out of it!

10. Spoil my niece, nephew and godson –  Right now everything I see I want to buy or do buy and send to them. I have a stack of stuff that needs to be sent out right now. I like to collect it and send a big box!

I am sure that more ideas will come to me later down the road, but for now these are top of my list. What was your before children bucket list?

Was there anything that you wish you had done prior to children or has everything worked out okay?

xoxo – Elizabeth